November 22, 2021

Dear Colleagues,

As some of you know, Anil Deolalikar has announced his intention to step down from his position as Dean of the School of Public Policy and to return to the faculty full-time. Anil is the Founding Dean for the school and has served in this capacity since 2013, ten years after he joined the UCR faculty as a professor in the economics department. It is a rare opportunity to build a new school from the ground up, and Anil has much to be proud of. SPP is now home to more than 20 faculty and nearly 350 students in both undergraduate and graduate programs, both with upward enrollment trajectories. The undergraduate program is the only public policy major in the UC system, the graduate program was recently ranked in the top 100 nationally, and the research quality and productivity of the faculty landed the school in the top 25% globally, above Texas A&M, Penn, and Brown. Anil's leadership of the school will be missed, but we are thrilled that he will remain our colleague and UCR will continue to benefit from the many ways he contributes to the campus. Please join me in thanking Anil for his service and welcoming him back to the faculty.

I am also pleased to announce the search advisory committee for the next Dean of the School of Public Policy:

Tom Smith, Professor of Education and Public Policy (Chair) Arleth Flores Aparicio, undergraduate student, School of Public Policy Cecilia Ayon, Professor of Public Policy (Senate Appointee) Yolanda Aquilar Candelario, graduate student, School of Public Policy Richard Carpiano, Professor of Public Policy (Senate Appointee) Xinping Cui, Professor of Statistics (Senate Appointee) Jodi Kim, Associate Professor of Media & Cultural Studies (Senate Appointee) Kathy Kim, Senior Director of Development, Engagement, and Policy, School of Public Policy Bruce Link, Distinguised Professor of Public Policy and Sociology (Senate Appointee) Mark Manalang, Marketing, Communications, and Events Manager, School of Public Policy Jennifer Merolla, Professor of Political Science (Senate Appointee) Mehdi Nemati, Assistant Professor of Cooperative Extension in Public Policy Sharon Oselin, Associate Professor of Public Policy and Sociology (Senate Appointee) Justine Ross, Associate Director, Blum Initiative, School of Public Policy Sally Tavizon, Assistant Dean and CFAO, School of Public Policy Qingfang Wang, Professor of Public Policy (Senate Appointee) Ran Wei, Associate Professor of Public Policy (Affirmative Action Compliance Liaison)

The executive search firm WittKieffer will be supporting this international search. Please email your comments, questions, or nominations to <u>UCRiverside-SPPDean@wittkieffer.com</u>. Your willingness to provide feedback, along with input from other campus constituents, and the search committee, helps to shape the overall picture and ideal candidate characteristics for this vital campus leadership position.

I look forward to broad campus and community participation as we embark upon this important search.

Sincerely, Elizabeth Watkins, PhD Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor